SmartScan Ideas

CMEEDCMEED Posts: 3

Hello All - While I like Expensify very much - some areas i find rather tough going and maybe they need to be looked at - mainly the smart scan which is my main bone of contention . It takes too long, especially with 60 odd receipts sitting in front of me. I'm on an Iphone 6, which I use for all receipts (i realise its getting on (IphoneX and all)) but even with an Iphone 8 i still found it hard going. I'm a designer and while I was breaking the back of a pile of receipts, I got thinking - here (for all their worth) - are my thoughts -

Main thought is to have smartscan screen show all options without scrolling - I know all screens are different but theres so much wasted space in my opinion - for some reason - I suspect it is slow due to processing the photo or it starts uploading the photo immediately -it takes a fair few seconds.... 4/5 on mine. amounting to a frustrating 45mins

So All options should be shown straight away with the photo taking up less space allowing the the previously mentioned. If the slowness after taking a picture was down to uploadeing maybe the uploading could be postponed till the user allowed it to go up when he/she was ready. not while i have 50 more receipts to go up. PS Expensify App also it crashes regularly after 25-30 receipts....

As is my designer want I couldnt stop myself from sketching my thoughts ...... see attached (Yes I know I've spelt receipt wrong!)
Cheers
Chris

Answers

• RachCHopkinsRachCHopkins Posts: 432 admin

Hi @CMEED Welcome to the Expensify Community!

This drawing may be my fav new thing. I come from a family of designers, so I love a good concept sketch <3 . We actually recently stripped down the mobile app interface due to a lot of feedback that there was too much going on and users were overwhelmed. Hence why it's all tucked away under the 'More options' section. However, I have passed on your ideas to our mobile team.