I need to remove a category that has been used on existing approved reports. What will happen to the existing reports?
Hi @laurie_baker, welcome to the Community! When you delete a category that is applied to existing expenses the category will remain on the expense. But, if it's on a report the expense will be highlighted in red that the category is out of policy. This simply means that the category used on the specific expense isn't a category listed in the policy at that time.
Admin can update the categories on submitted expenses at any time, so deleting a category shouldn't be a problem. If you run into other questions let us know!
I've set up my categories but cannot delete the 'name' category from my selection list or disable it. Please help
Hi @AmyJ it looks like you may have accidentally imported the header row.
What happens if you hit the little 'x' at the end of the row in the Categories tab?
And next time you import, make sure you tick the little check box...
If I hit the red x it will delete then immediately show up again.
Hi @AmyJ, thanks for confirming that. Do you still have the original file you uploaded to create your categories? If so, I'd recommend uploading it once more, making sure to check the box that Rachael pointed out in her response above.
If this issue continues after uploading your categories again, please let me know!
You're welcome Amy, have a great day!
Hi @Sheena Trepanier - I was reading your answer as I am having the same issue, though I created the category manually instead of uploading a file...I am not able to delete an errant category even when hitting the red "x" (it comes right back) I've tried every permutation - changing the requirements, deleting the requirement, turning off the green radio button...any thoughts on how to get these to go away? If my image shows up, both of those need to be deleted...
Hi @ProvenCate I have actually seen this before and I think it's an issue with that apostrophe. The system doesn't actually think those categories exist anymore.
I recommend you export all to CSV, and then when you have a 'safety copy' let us know, and we can clear all the categories completely. Then you can reupload the ones you want to keep.
I look forward to hearing from you!