Are you receiving SNAP/EBT benefits? The Expensify.org/SNAP-VAX campaign is live and accepting new members. Learn more about receiving $50 for submitting a SNAP receipt and $50 for getting your COVID-19 vaccine here and join today!

How to: Manage Domain Members

Stephanie Elliot
Stephanie Elliot Expensify Team Posts: 70 Expensify Team
edited August 6 in How-to Docs

A Domain Admin will have advanced permissions when it comes to managing users. As a Domain Admin, you can create new user accounts, close accounts and set rules/permissions for groups of employees. 

Adding users to the domain

Adding a user to your domain will create a new user account in Expensify and send the employee an invitation to set up their account. 

  1. On your web account, navigate to Settings > Domains [Domain Name] > Domain Members 
  2. In the email address field, enter the user you wish to invite. This will create a new user account in Expensify and send the employee an invitation to set up their account.

Removing users from the domain

Removing a user will remove their account from your domain and will close the user account entirely if the employee does not have a secondary login on the account. Closing an account is not reversible and will delete any Open and Processing reports, so be very careful when closing user accounts! 

  1. On your web account, navigate to Settings > Domains [Domain Name] > Domain Members 
  2. Tick the box next to the name of the employee/s you wish to remove and then click Close Accounts.

Side note: If a user has a Secondary Login linked to their Expensify account, they will still be able to sign in to their Expensify account with the Secondary Login email after the account is closed in the domain.

The ex-employee will not be able to access the company group policy they were part of, nor use the company email, but they will still be able o see all reports they created/submitted.

Domain Groups

Some admins like to separate domain members into Domain Groups. The most popular Groups are simply Employees and Managers. However, you can have many more groups with any title. Different groups allow you to designate different domain rules for each group type.

You can read about the different permissions offered by Groups in this help doc.

Moving users between groups

  1. On your web account, navigate to Settings > Domains [Domain Name] > Domain Members 
  2. Select the user(s) you'd like to move from the Domain Members list and choose Move to Group
  3. In the dropdown menu that appears, choose the Group you would like to move the selected users to

Related Articles: 

Tagged: