Company Card Webinar - FAQs

Options
Sonia Liapounova
Sonia Liapounova Expensify Success Coach - Admin, Expensify Team Posts: 210 Expensify Team
edited November 2021 in Webinars

Here's a selection of common questions from our Company Card webinar!

Can I assign a card to a user on a public domain like gmail.com?

No, you can only assign cards to users on a private domain. Since we can't validate public domains like gmail.com, it's not possible to assign a card to someone only using a Gmail address. If the person is associated with a validated domain (like perhaps they are a contractor), one option would be to create an email address on the domain for them. Otherwise, the only other option would be to ask them to add the card as a personal card instead. 

I'm an accountant with clients across several domains - which domain do I validate?

If you need to assign cards and you not a member of the private domain, such as an accountant, you will need to become a domain admin by validating the domain. You'll want to validate each domain for which you need to assign company cards! Keep in mind, you can validate as many domains as you need to! 

How can I avoid duplicates when exporting credit card transactions to my accounting integration?

We recommend exporting the transactions from Expensify first and then accepting the transactions from your bank register second. That will allow the expenses to merge! 

What are Domains and why do I need it to use company cards?

Domains is the feature that allows you to centrally assign, manage, and reconcile company cards. If you are a member of a private domain, you do not need to validate the domain to use the company card feature. Some cards can be imported through Account Settings but most company cards are only available under Domains settings.

What is the difference between the 2 different types of company card options in Domains, the commercial card feed, and the direct bank connection?