Deep Dive: Errors removing employees and what they mean
Common error messages when removing users
- Preferred Exporter - If you are receiving an error about an employee being an "exporter" that means they are set as a preferred exporter within the configurations of your accounting integration. You can change this from Settings > Policies > Group > [Policy Name] > Connections > Configure and select a different policy admin in the dropdown for Preferred Exporter.
- Billing Owner - If the user you are removing is currently the billing owner, you will first need to transfer billing ownership before removing them from the policy.
- Processing reports - If the user you want to remove has reports in the Processing state, the reports will need to be either approved or rejected before the user can be removed from your policy.
- Approval Workflow - If the user you're looking to remove is set as the designated approver for your policy, you will need to replace them with a new approver before deleting the user. The approver can be changed under Settings > Policies > Group > [Policy Name] > People > Approval Mode > change the "Submit reports to" field. More on updating this type of approval flow can be found here!