FAQ: Free Plan and Workspaces

Cheryl Walsh
Cheryl Walsh Expensify Success Coach - Admin, Expensify Team, Expensify Student Ambassador Posts: 107 Expensify Team
edited October 2023 in Getting Started

I am an admin, what features are included in the Free Plan?

What is a Workspace Editor?

A Workspace Editor is a space where you can configure your Workspace, pay bills, send invoices, book travel, and more!

I am on a paid plan, can I switch to a Free Plan?

You can set up a Free Plan, but you must honor any active subscription you have also. If you're on a paid plan, it is likely you want more functionality than what the Free Plan offers such as a direct connection with an accounting integration and approval workflows.

Can I get cashback on Expensify Card purchases if I have a free plan?

You can get 1% credited back to your settlement account once you spend over $25,000 per month across all cards and 2% when you spend over $250,000!

Can I switch currency on the Free Plan? It looks set to USD

Yes, you can change the currency of the Free Plan by going to Avatar > [Workspace Name] > General settings > Default currency.

We do require a US business bank account for reimbursements and Expensify Card settlements though, so if you have a business bank account linked to your account, then the currency of the Free Plan will be USD.

Is a free plan available to people outside the USA?

Yes! You can use the free plan anywhere in the world to track expenses, send invoices etc. Just remember, anything that requires a verified business bank account (such as ACH reimbursement and the Expensify Card) is only available to those with a US checking account!

Can I integrate the free plan with my accounting package?

No. In order to use our accounting sync, you will need to update to a paid plan

With the FREE plan, can I add categories and tags to expenses?