Deep Dive: How the #announce and #admins rooms work
What are the #announce and #admins rooms?
Upon the creation of a Workspace on the Free Plan, you'll immediately have access to two chat rooms:
#announce - every Workspace member will be invited to this room by default.
#admins - every Workspace Admin will be invited to this room by default.
How do you join or leave the rooms?
If you are a member of the Workspace, you'll automatically be invited to the #announce room. If you're an Admin of the Workspace, you'll automatically be invited to the #admin room.
If you're not a member of the Workspace, then you won't see these rooms!
- If a member is removed from the Workspace entirely, they’re removed from the #announce room.
- If an Admin has their Admin role taken away, they’re removed from the #admins room, but remain in the #announce room as a Workspace member.
- If an Admin is removed from the Workspace entirely, they are removed from both #admins and #announce.
Once removed from a given room, the member will no longer be able to find or search for that room to access the chat history.
How do notifications work for these rooms?
Unlike direct messages, these rooms come with three notification settings. Each member can configure this on a room-by-room basis, by clicking the chat header at the top of the room to access the Details page on the right-hand side.
Daily (enabled by default) - A daily digest on all email/SMS messages is sent at 9 am in the member’s local timezone, summarising all the unread messages in the room that were missed in the previous 24-hour window.
Always - Push notifications are sent in real-time, with the addition of an email/SMS fallback for any chats missed in the previous 10 minutes.
Mute - Push notifications and email/SMS fallback notifications are not sent at all.