How to bill a client for reimbursable expenses as independent contractor?

Legger
Legger Expensify Customer Posts: 3 Expensify Newcomer

Howdy everybody,

I'm an independent contractor with a dozen clients. One of them is asking me to send them an Invoice for my reimbursable expenses instead of the Expense Report that I had been sending them in the past. I had created my own report using Excel but want to use Expensify for all of my Invoicing/Expense Reports from now on.

I created an expense report on Expensify only have it be rejected as they had changed their policies. When I resubmitted it as an Invoice (which I did by simply renaming it as "Invoice for expenses for Greece Trip", they rejected it again because it didn't have a Due Upon Receipt, a unique Invoice # and today's date on it.

Please help,

Steve

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Stephanie Elliot
    Stephanie Elliot Expensify Team, Expensify Student Ambassador Posts: 84 Expensify Team
    edited September 2020 Answer ✓

Hey @Legger! Happy to get a little more specific on this for you. First things first, have you enabled invoicing on your policy? If not, you’ll want to do that - you can find a guide on how to send an invoice here

As for generating a unique invoice identifier, you can use the Report ID. For context, the Report ID is a unique number that appears at the top-left corner of all reports and invoices. 

To make that Report ID extra visible for your client and to add the date of the invoice’s submission, I would recommend building that information into your Default Report Title. As an example, you could use the formula: Legger {report:submit:date} Invoice #{report:id} to populate the report title "Legger 2019-08-18 Invoice #123456". To customize your Default Report Title even further, check out the full list of custom formulas.

You can add any notes “due upon receipt”, etc., to the memo section of the Invoice.