Can I configure department-specific tags that are only available to specific employees?

RebeccaM
RebeccaM Expensify Customer Posts: 8 Expensify Newcomer
edited August 2018 in Day to Day

Hello

I have Department-related cost centres that I want to use as tags. However I don't want employees to be able to select tags of other departments. ie if Bob in sales travels, I want him to only be able to select the tag of Sales - Asia travel or Sales - America travel - not R&D or Marketing Asia / America travel. What is the best way to set that up? (ps I'm new to expensify). Thanks for your help

Best Answers

• tylerzoll
    tylerzoll Approved! Accountant Posts: 430 Expensify Champion
    edited December 2018 Answer ✓

@RebeccaM, I posted an idea for an improvement on how this works by setting a default tag for an employee, but I didn't include anything about enforcing it. My recommendation would be to create some rules for the users that cover all of their expenses, then let Expensify auto tag the expenses for that employee. The problem is that you have to set up the rule on individual accounts. This isn't too bad if you have wingman access. Keep in mind though anyone can break the rule by manually changing a tag. Hopefully that helps, you can vote for the idea here: https://community.expensify.com/discussion/469/default-tags-for-an-employee

• Sheena Trepanier
    Sheena Trepanier Expensify Team, Approved! Accountant, Expensify Student Ambassador Posts: 1,362 Expensify Team
    Answer ✓

Thanks for sharing your idea here @tylerzoll!

@RebeccaM - thanks for joining and posting on the community, it's great to have you here. Depending on how you're going to be utilizing Expensify, there are a few different options for you.